NYE

2015 and I were both run ragged,

Each surfeited with its mundane cycle

But we were nonetheless prepared to see it out in style,

The flighty temptress that it was.

 

The night turned swiftly

(Or so I’ve been told);

Within a few short hours I was racing time for an impermissible kiss,

One that I am still paying for.

 

I was determined to remain vertical,

Didn’t waver in abdicating those adversary shoes.

I don’t recall falling yet here I am

Becoming quite acquainted with the floor.

 

Arsehole, I called him, because that is simply the truth

And this sweet nectar won’t permit anything else.

I did it again and again, again, again

As the haziness splashed messily from my head to my toes.

 

Someone finally returned me to my feet – a misguided saviour

Who coerced me back downstairs like The Pied Piper

To rejoin my herd with singing and swaying

As we ceremoniously attended the funeral of 2015

 

And christened 2016 with another drink.

 

2 Replies to “NYE”

  1. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and
    it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or advice.
    Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read even more things about it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

