On Dressing Appropriately

“Surely you’re not going out in that?”
My mother demanded,
Interrogating me under the dim bathroom light.
“It’s far too suggestive”.

For those of you wondering,
Not that it’s any of your business,
I was simply wearing my own clothes
And the only thing they suggested was that
I had recently taken a trip to H&M.

So I replied to my mother
“Perhaps instead of teaching girls
To dress appropriately, we should
Teach boys to keep their hands to themselves”.

I dress the way I dress
For myself,
Not for them.
Never for them.

One Reply to “On Dressing Appropriately”

Leave a Reply

