(Ir)Rational Fears

You may ask me
“What’s your biggest fear?”
And I may reply
“Being underground”
But I may also reply

“Being alone.
Nothing scares me more
Than the idea that
Everyone who loves me
Has the capability of leaving me.

Love, like a home grown plant,
Can wilt and die before your eyes.
It can fade like the felt tip
Scribblings of our names
On a wall somewhere back home.

Love can leave without you even noticing.
It can creep out like a burglar in the night,
And soon enough people will go with it
Without giving you a chance
To stick a band aid over the cracks.”

Leave a Reply

